Contact Us

2529 J O Stephenson Ave
Kennesaw, GA 30144


2017 Elections

A non-partisan election will be held November 7 for Council Posts 3, 4 and 5, elected at-large.  None of the posts are tied to any geographical boundaries of or within the city.  Qualifying will occur August 21, 22 and 23, 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM (closed for lunch noon to 1:00 PM) in the City Hall Training Room, 2529 J.O. Stephenson Avenue, Kennesaw.  The qualifying fee is $360 equal to 3% of the gross annual salary.  Each Council post is for a term of four years.  Per City Charter:

Sec. 2.02. – Qualification for mayor and councilmembers.

To be eligible for the office of elected or appointed mayor or councilmember a person must be at least 21 years of age and must meet the requirements of a qualified voter of the city as described by state law, and must be a bona fide resident of the City of Kennesaw for one year prior to election day, subject to all applicable state and federal laws. No person shall be qualified to hold the office of mayor or councilmember who shall have been convicted of a felony unless such person has received a full pardon and has had all rights of citizenship restored. 

The following candidates have filed a Notice of Candidacy & Affidavit to qualify for the November 7, 2017 municipal election:

Antonio Jones
Jeffrey Oparnica
Pat Ferris

Jimmy Dickens, Sr. (incumbent)
Chris Henderson
James Sebastian

David Blinkhorn
Bobby Copeland (write-in candidate)

More information is available on the Cobb Elections website:

Voter Informationvote

Are you 18 years old? Have you moved? Have you had a name change? Are you registered to vote? It’s an election year in the City of Kennesaw and every vote counts. For those who wish to have a voice in their community – this is your chance! At the local level your vote truly does count in a significant way. Have your voices heard and register to vote!

For information about where to vote or how to vote early as well as sample ballots for any upcoming election, visit the Secretary of State’s website, called the My Voter Page.

By typing your name, birth date and county, you can get the following information:

  • Voter registration status
  • Polling place location for Election Day voting
  • Sample ballot customized by voting district
  • Early voting locations and times
  • Elected Officials for state-wide and state district offices
  • Mail-In absentee ballot application and ballot status 

Information about advance voting locations may be accessed by clicking here.

Voters who choose not to vote in person may apply to Vote-by-Mail by submitting an application to the Cobb County Elections Office at P.O. Box 649, Marietta, GA 30061-0649 or by faxing an application to 770-528-2458. Applications are available at

Click here for alternate routes to the Community Center that bypass roadwork

Voting Precincts

All precincts have been approved by the Kennesaw City Council and the Cobb County Board of Elections & Registration; polls will be open from 7 am to 7 pm and the election will be held in the following precincts:

  • Kennesaw KE1A – Gateway International Church of God, 1455 Ben King Road NW
  • Kennesaw KE2A – Kennesaw Mountain HS, 1898 Kennesaw Due West Rd
  • Kennesaw KE3A – Ben Robertson Community Center, 2753 Watts Drive; due to road work on Dallas Street, use Cobb Parkway to access Watts Drive
  • Kennesaw KE4A – Kennesaw Elementary School, 3155 Jiles Road
  • Kennesaw KE5A – Legacy Park Clubhouse, 4201 Legacy Park Circle

Cobb County Board of Elections & Registration will mail notices 30 days before the election to voters who will be assigned a new precinct.

Voter Registration

There are several ways you can register to vote:

  • Register to vote when you get your driver’s license
  • Register at any Cobb County Library when you apply for a library card, or any time you are at a library you may pick up a blank application and mail it in yourself
  • Pick up an application at government service centers, city halls, or senior centers
  • Call the Cobb County Elections office at (770) 528-2581 and they will mail you an application
  • Come to the Board of Elections office, 736 Whitlock Ave., Suite 400, Marietta GA 30064, Monday – Friday, 8am – 5pm